Equity Bank

Ticker code EQTY Industry Regional Banks Equity Bank Ltd.
NHIF Building, 14th Floor
P.O. Box 75104-00200
Nairobi, Kenya
ISIN KE0000000554 Sector Financial
Initial Listing 12 February 2015 Financial Year End 31 December
Website www.equitybankgroup.com Results Released Quarterly


Founded as Equity Building Society (EBS) in October 1984, Equity Bank has grown to be the largest bank in Africa by customer base. The Bank is licensed under the Kenya Banking Act (Chapter 488) and offers retail banking, micro-finance and related services.  The Bank has subsidiaries in Kenya, Uganda, South Sudan, Rwanda, and Tanzania. Its shares are listed on the Nairobi Securities Exchange and Uganda Securities Exchange.


Ernst & Young
Kenya-Re Towers, Upperhill
Off Ragati Road
P.O. Box 44286 - 00100
Nairobi, Kenya


Mary Wangari Wamae
9th Floor, Equity Centre
P.O. Box 75104-00200
Nairobi, Kenya


Coulson Harney Advocates,
1st Floor, Block A
Nairobi Business Park
Ngong Road
P.O. Box 10643 – 00100
Nairobi, Kenya

Hamilton Harrison & Mathews
ICEA Building,
Kenyatta Avenue
P.O. Box 30333-00100
Nairobi, Kenya

Dengtiel A. Kuur
South Sudan Associated Advocates
Chamber of Commerce Complex
Summer Palace Business Hotel Close
Juba, South Sudan

MRB Attorneys
KG 624 St, Kimihurura
P.O. Box 628
Kigali, Rwanda

Mark & Associates Attorneys
NIC Life House
1st Floor, Wing C
Sokoine Drive/Ohio Street
P.O.Box 8211
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

A.F. Mpanga Advocates
9th Floor North Wing Workers House
1 Pilkinton Road
P.O. Box 1520
Kampala, Uganda

Name Position
Peter Munga Non-executive Chairman
James Mwangi Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director
Benson I. Wairegi Non-executive Vice Chairman
Bhartesh Shah Chief Operating Officer
Helen Gichohi Managing Director, Equity Group Foundation
Temitope Lawani Non-executive Director
Fredrick Muchoki Non-executive Director
Ernest Nzovu Non-executive Director
Babatunde Soyoye Non-executive Director
Shem Migot-Adholla Non-executive Director; Non-executive Chairman, Equity Bank South Sudan
Alykhan Nathoo Non-executive Director
Dennis Aluanga Non-executive Director
David R. Ansell Non-executive Director; Non-executive Chairman, Equity Bank Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania
John Staley Chief Officer - Finance, Innovation and Technology
George Alibaruho Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Uganda
Elizabeth Lwanga Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Uganda
Kenyi Spencer Non-executive Director, Equity Bank South Sudan
Mary James Ajith Non-executive Director, Equity Bank South Sudan
Evelyn Rutagwenda Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Rwanda
Herman Musahara Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Rwanda
Delphin Rwegasira Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Tanzania
Zahra Nuru Non-executive Director, Equity Bank Tanzania
Mary Wamae Company Secretary and Director of Corporate Strategy
Reuben Mbindu Director of Human Resources
Raphael Hukai Chief Information Officer
Jumaane Tafawa Director Investments and Strategic Initiatives
Gerald Warui Director Customer Experience, Research and Development
Hildah Mugo Director of Operations
Michael Wachira Director of Treasury and Trade Finance
Allan Waititu Director Special Projects
Isaac Mwige Director of Relationship Banking
Elizabeth Gathai Director of Credit
Bildard Fwamba General Manager, Internal Audit
Ayotunde Aboaba General Manager, Risk
Francis C G Mills - Robertson Managing Director, Equity Bank Uganda
Paul Gitahi Managing Director, Equity Bank South Sudan
Samuel Kirubi Managing Director, Equity Bank Rwanda
Joseph Iha Managing Director, Equity Bank Tanzania
Apollo Njoroge Executive Director, Equity Bank Uganda

Shareholders as at 31 December 2014
Name of shareholder Number of shares % Shareholding
Helios EB Investors I LTD 452,581,275 12.22
Helios EB Investors II LTD 452,581,275 12.22
British-American Investments Company (K) Ltd 263,455,230 7.12
Equity Bank Employee's Share Ownership Plan 143,865,900 3.89
James Njuguna Mwangi 127,809,180 3.45
Equity Nominees Limited A/C 00104 102,821,804 2.78
Fortress Highlands Limited 101,010,000 2.73
Standard Chartered Nominees Non-Resident A/C 9069 96,686,446 2.61
Andrew Mwangi Kimani 90,426,800 2.44
AIB Nominee A/C Solidus Holdings Ltd 90,114,910 2.43
Other 27,816 shareholders 1,781,424,200 48.11
Total 3,702,777,020 100.00
Distribution of shareholders as at 31 December 2014
  Number of shareholders Number of shares % shareholding
Less than 500 shares 9,512 2,486,025 0.07
501 - 5,000 shares 12,872 24,269,670 0.66
5,001 - 10,000 shares 2,020 15,785,574 0.43
10,001 - 100,000 shares 2,629 75,630,390 2.04
100,001 - 1,000,000 shares 527 174,673,262 4.72
Over 1,000,000 shares 266 3,409,932,099 92.09
Total 27,826 3,702,777,020 100.00